Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

The rates of traffic congestions in cities have lifted since last thirty years due to increasing of car numbers per individual. I mostly agree with this statement because private vehicles cause to jamming in traffic, particularly at junctions. Governments may claim additional taxes and they may improve public transportation webs in order to ratify this situation. Firstly, this case leads to create dense areas in particular regions of traffic gradually. Many individuals use their vehicles for transporting themselves only, although their vehicles ’ capacity is at least five. To illustrate that in Istanbul, one of the most notorious city which suffer from traffic, nearly 50 per cent of vehicles are private cars. This situation give rises to redundant density in main transportation ways, junctions and streets. Thus, I agree this case and its negative effects should be solved. Secondly, to discourage individuals from possessing more vehicles, governments should assume some responsibilities. They may regulate a new rule for the owning car policies. Additional taxes may be implemented in them. In addition, they can enhance fossil fuels’ taxes. Apart from these, people should be spurred to use public transportation. Governments may present and construct new ways and circuits to magnify transportation web in cities. Therefore, they would be reduction in car ownership rates and traffic may be alleviated. In conclusion, causes, examples and solutions can be multiplied with this case. It is obvious that this case needs probably a long term planning but it can be solved if authorities work comprehensively and patient.