Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services?

In modern time, a common opinion is that for the expenditure of tution and medical care, the government should be responsible, while others opine that individuals must contribute these fundings by themselves. I agree with the former view as it makes more sense. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why education and medical sector should be provided by the authority. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favour of this idea is poverty. To illustrate this, there are many developing countries like Bangladesh, whose inhabitants live below the poverty line and they cannot afford to carry out these expanses. So if it remains free, it will remove the curse like illiteracy and the citizens will also become physically fit enough. Further point is that, if people are well-educated and of sound health, it will be proven beneficial for the country itself. In other words, education is the backbone of a nation, so educated citizens will make the country more advanced and developed. Despite these arguments, there is also another point of view is that the education and health care services should be paid by individuals. The main reason why people support this opinion is because the authority may be unlikely to provide the best options. For example, in many Asian countries, when you get admitted to a public hospital, you will not get the proper care and in order to get the best medical facilities, you will have to get admitted to a private hospital, which needs to be funded by yourself. Moreover, if everyone supports their literacy and health sector, they will understand its importance and will make the best uses of it. To conclude, from the above discussion, it is clear that both sides arguments are strong. But my personal view is that it is everyone's right from the government to get the medical and educational services.