People think that university students should be able to study whatever they like. Others believe that universities should only teach subjects that will be useful in the future, such as science, technology and engineering. Discuss these views and give your opinion.

educationalists when deciding the curriculum for tertiary education have faced a conundrum of whether or not to let students opt for subjects based on their favours or focus on practical fields such as science, technology and engineering. both standpoints have their own merits., however, schools should be more open. on the one hand, the conventional curriculum has its right to focus on educating several requisite areas of knowledge. social development is chiefly dependent on human's growing literacy of practical subjects including science, technology and engineering, hence, with a well-equipped understanding of these fields from colleges, not only student's job opportunities would be firmly ensured as human resources are constantly in need but also the national growth could have remained. on the other hand, it is more rightful to offer students the freedom to choose the subjects for their learning course. simply put, students themselves are better than anyone including university professors at understanding their capability as well as prospective career choices, thus giving them consent to decide what should be included in their course appears to be sensible. for instance, language students might also have an interest in other fields including arts and economics and if the school directors enable them to deliberately design their courses, their chances to prosper in more than one area could be strengthened. in conclusion, the university curriculum indisputably desires to fulfil career requirements for students through the provision of practical knowledge, however, an open environment where students are given the onus of designing their college learning appears to be more advantageous.