Traffic congestion is a major problem in most large cities ,nowadays. What are the causes of traffic congestion in cities? what could the government do to reduce this problem?

These days, traffic congestion is the most common issue faced in many larger cities. Some reasons are the increased number of privately owned cars and poor road infrastructures. To combat the government should improve road transportation and provide competitive salaries in rural areas. The growth of privately owned vehicles and poor road infrastructure contributed to road and traffic problems. Because of the influx of people from rural communities to main cities for work, many purchased cars to save time and inconvenience in commuting. Similarly, due to poor infrastructures, main roads are now easily damaged, and more and more road potholes and pavements has been observe though roads are newly constructed in Iligan city, for instance, even though fixing and repairing are done yearly. As a result, cars are piling on highways and narrowing the areas drivers can use. Firstly, city governance should focus on enhancing their services by building fast trains and adding more buses and stations that people can access conveniently. The government should make local transportation accessible and convenient and provide a competitive salary in rural areas. Then, taxing cars that use city expressways, main roads, and highways. Finally, promoting local community businesses and opening them for investors allows more job opportunities and increased compensation. Doing this, therefore, declines people's interest in relocating to bigger cities and limits the commuter time waiting. In Japan, the waiting time is less than five minutes for the next train to arrive. In conclusion, traffic congestion in big cities decreases if issues are properly addressed it needs a joint effort from the government and its people. However, this issue will continue if people will not cooperate and change.