Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and intrests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this infomation may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is very common for a couple of personal information is being asked during an interview. Some people believe that it is not relevant for companies to know their personal information since it has no relevance to their job desk. However, I am on the other side of the coin. I do believe that some common personal information being asked is quite beneficial for the interviewer, and HR team. Companies are looking for someone that can fit into their culture and environment, not only a person that can do the job. Hobbies and interests often being asked during interviews since it will help the interviewer to get to know the candidate better. In addition, hobbies and interests are something that we enjoy doing as fun activities. Therefore, I believe that talking about these questions may make us feel more comfortable during the interview sessions. Another common personal information question being asked is marital status. It may seem quite a sensitive question being asked by a stranger. However, this part is quite essential for the HR team. Some companies provide insurance benefits for employee and their family. If that employee has more dependents on insurance, therefore the amount of insurance paid by the company will be much higher than an employee who is single with no dependents. In conclusion, some personal information is quite sensitive and some people feel it shouldn't be asked. However, this personal information can be beneficial both for the employee itself and the company. It can help the company to know the employee better and employees can show more of themselves to the company.