While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that vocational training should be increasingly encouraged as opposed to pursuing academic study at academy as there is a lack of qualified manual workers. This essay begs to differ from this viewpoint as vocational training doesn't necessarily make electricians and plumbers more qualified as the training lacks inducement of academic concepts and vocational training does not encompass all the benefits that educational institution can provide. Jobs like plumbing can be robust, involving not just physical tasks but also those where academic concepts are applied. To be well qualified for their jobs, the workers thus need to have a fair background in both these aspects. Vocational training deals mostly with traditionally non-academic aspects of a job and this may not equip the manual workers with all the academic skills required to resolve problems of a higher complexity. For example, vocational training may equip electricians so far as to join torn wires/ replace them well but to be able to work with more advanced areas like electrical circuits, systems, and components requires an academic grip on those subject matters, which can only be provided in advanced level studies. Additionally, the university provides benefits that are as much as just half covered by vocational training. University curriculums ensure the holistic development of students. This means that not only are students well-educated on the necessary concepts for their future careers, but are also guided through career-oriented experiences which give them more well-rounded training for all aspects of their career as opposed to vocational training. For example, many universities in the US, UK and Singapore dedicate a university term to doing internships which allows the students an enriching experience of delving further into their career fields and trains them better for all sorts of tasks that may arise in their future jobs. All in all, there is no significant advantage of encouraging more people to do vocational training as opposed to university studies because it may not equip electricians and plumbers with outstanding qualifications after all and university study experience provides more well-rounded benefits for the students ' prospective careers.