A growing number of people rely on restaurants and convenience food (Frozen food and packaged meals) rather than home-cooked food to supply most of their meals. What are the advantages and disadvantages of eating this way ?

These days, more and more people prefer dining out or ready-to-go food over cooking at home for most of the time. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon. On one hand, regarding the advantage of having meals in restaurants and prepared food, the most significant one is that they are very convenient. People, especially those living in the city, live a hectic life and they are busy with their work. As most of them have long working hours and short rest time, they would like to eat something that is well prepared by the others in order to reduce the time that they spend on meal preparation,and hence, able to have more time for rest and other leisure activities. Besides, although cooking is a life essential skill, not many people know how to cook well, especially the young generation. In order to have a taste of different cuisines and delicious dishes, they would like to dine out as in generally prepared food taste good. On the other hand, relying on restaurants and convenience food may affect people's health as they could not control the ingredients used in the food. In order to make food more attractive and tasty, chefs and food manufacturers would add a large amount of food additives, sugar and sodium into the meals and they are very unhealthy. Eating a lot of these kinds of food may have a high risk of several diseases including obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure and even cardiovascular disease. On the contrary,if people prepare the meal by themselves, they could control their use of ingredients and prepare healthier food. In conclusion, although eating ready-prepared food is more convenient and could help us save time, it may bring detrimental effects on people's health, therefore, people should strike a balance between dining out and home cooking.