Housing shortages in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the population is increasing at a brisk pace. Most of the population is trying to live in urban areas thus, creating a housing shortage. This issue is causing a lot of social issues. Many people think that this can be resolved only with government intervention. I completely agree with this assumption and will support it with relevant reasons in this essay. There are many problems that arise when there is a crisis in housing. One of the major problems is the rise in rent. For example, in cities like New York rents for a single room is somewhere around 1000 dollars. This is very high the government should introduce strict regulations that keep control. Another problem is the rise in housing prices. People always try to buy a house for themselves. Due to the increase in demand for houses. Real estate companies inflate house prices. For example, in cities like Toronto a single studio costs between one and two million dollars. This indeed makes it impossible to buy in this economy. Furthermore, this shortage will increase homelessness. If both the rent and house prices keep on climbing then, no one will be able to buy a place or pay a lease. This will bring citizens onto the streets. For Instance, a recent study indicates that there is already a thirty per cent rise in homeless people. The authorities should open more shelter homes to address this problem. To conclude, the housing shortage is a very big social problem. Government should introduce various policies to keep both residence rates and leases in control. Additionally, they should build more shelter homes and upgrade the existing ones to keep homelessness in control.