Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in major cities. What solutions can you suggest to help the problem?

Reports show that heavy traffic is going to be a significant issue in megacities. In my opinion, with the assumption of the contribution of government and people, there are many ways to address this problem. In this essay, we consider some of these solutions. Firstly, developing public transportation and reducing the fare encourages people to use these vehicles for their daily journeys. In other words, when people realize that using public transportation is efficient both in time and money, they absolutely decide not to drive to work and use other vehicles for their inward urban travels. Secondly, the government should stimulate people to use bicycles for their short journeys by building more and more dedicated roads for bicycles alongside every street. In fact, it is commonly accepted that using bicycles is both healthy and cost-effective, so preparing routes and making more facilities for bike runners make people use them more and more instead of their cars. Last but not least is to increase the cost of using motor-equipped vehicles. For instance, increasing taxes on using personal automobiles during rush hours or raising the petrol price can prohibit people from using them. To sum up, although traffic congestion is an inevitable part of living in modern cities these days, the government can control it by expanding public transportation, making more bike facilities, and charging citizens who use their cars for short journeys.