Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Elderly people argue that everyone should follow traditional rules, and younger people are inclined to recourse to alternative social norms for **sustainable** development. Notwithstanding, traditions are an important reminder of meaningful experience in the past, I completely agree that modern society needs to evade using them for social regulation. Humanity needs to get rid off traditions because in order to create something new innovators should break old rules by looking from different angles and using innovative approaches towards well-known problems. First of all, it prevents think-tanks from being creative which means that further development stagnates. Secondly, old ways of thinking do not correlate with new circumstances, so rules and laws need to be changed to reflect adequately the current situation. For example, because of technological outbreak, the legislation in many countries does not correspond with new digital world and should be changed in the fast pace. However, traditions can serve as a constant reminder of meaningful lessons of the past in order to convey experience from previous generation to the following. Nowadays, in different cultures public holidays are set due to the payment of respect to the predecessors (e.g. day of memory of wars or government repressions victims). This tradition helps people to remember about mistakes of the past and prevent similar sutuations in the future from occuring to a certain degree. In conclusion, Although people should not act pursuant to traditions, it is necessary to keep the past events in mind for the best future by having days of memory and maintaining the connection with previous generations. However, this social insitution should not be used as social regulator since it impairs further development.