Most people in the world need to work in order to lead a decent life or even just to survive. Many workers are motivated by money: if the job pays well, they are willing to do it. However, some people are not concerned with the size of their pay packet: they simply enjoy their job and choose to do it whether they earn a high salary or not. What is more important – salary or job satisfaction? Discuss and give reasons for your answer.

To begin, both work satisfaction and salary are important when it comes to retaining a certain position or a company. According to my point of view, I believe job satisfaction is more vital than salary despite several drawbacks. Firstly, in this highly competitive society where people always spend their time running after materialistic well-being, some may find money as a glue that binds them tightly to the placement itself. Moreover, regardless of their satisfaction, expertise or even interest many prefer to accept offers with better financial benefits and allowances. For an instance, due to the current economic crisis in Sri Lanka, most of the youngsters who were doing full-time work migrated to other countries with part-time offers but for better wages compared to their birth country. Additionally, our ultimate goal is to lead a decent life where we can easily afford our basic needs. So, it makes quite a point that salary plays a dominant character in this matter. On the other hand, I believe, work satisfaction outweighs the amount you get from doing a particular task. After all, mental health is the most valuable asset one could have which ultimately leads to physical fitness as well. In order to perform a role accurately and efficiently, the working environment should be friendly and suitable without any severe disturbances. As an example, I have seen some colleagues in my previous office resign from their highly-paid posts due to dissatisfaction in their role. To conclude, although the fact that being paid cannot be underestimated and has a tremendous impact when it comes to living a fairly good lifestyle, in my opinion, having a job that you love and enjoy is the most precious aspect of all.