Some people think that tourism benefits the host country. Others think that tourism causes problems for the host country.

In some respects, tourism has advantages for the host country, but in other respects it can cause problems. The advantages of tourism are perhaps easier to see than the disadvantages. Firstly, the economy of many countries benefits from income which tourism generates. For example, hotels, shops and transport companies, among others, can earn an income from tourists. And money which is paid by tourists to see historic buildings can be used by the host government to conserve those things. Also, when tourists travel within their own country, there are educational benefits, because they learn new things when they travel. In this way the educational level of the general population is raised. Finally, overseas tourism benefits both visitors and hosts, because it increases opportunities for learning about each other's culture. This must have a positive effect on international relations. On the other hand, it could be claimed that the advantages of tourism are either small, or non-existent. For one thing, some types of tourists, for example backpackers, spend very little money in the host country. They stay in inexpensive hostels, or camp in tents, and they prefer to visit sites for which there is little or no charge. In addition, some tourist sites attract such high visitor numbers that they are being damaged. Examples of such places include Victoria Falls, the Acropolis, or Angkor Wat. This damage incurs both cultural and financial costs for the host country. Furthermore, the lives of local people may be disturbed when large numbers of tourists visit the area in which they live. Finally, travelling by air to distant places can damage the environment, as jet fuel pollutes the atmosphere, and in this respect not only the host country but also the world suffers from its effects. On the whole, considering the arguments for and against tourism, I feel that the benefits are greater than the costs.