Parents are unhappy with the increasing amount of violence in computer games such as TV programmes and leisure activities. How much harmful it can be on children and what can be done to solve this problem. Give relevant examples from your own experience.

Nowadays, children are mostly spending their free time playing video games and watching TV. Video games come in various forms such as consoles and computers. The amount of violence in these contents is increasing day by day. This has a very harmful effect on them. This essay will focus on the effects and possible solutions with relevant examples from my experience. There are many harmful impacts on children playing violent video games and watching TV shows. One of the major impacts is addiction. These things can be very addictive. For example, a recent study indicates that younger folks who spend more than 4 hours at these get addicted. This is causing serious health issues. They are losing their eyesight at a very young age. Another impact of this violence. Those who watch or play such things try to replicate the same behaviour they observe. For instance, a survey shows that children who spend more hours on these turn out to be murderers by the age of 30. This is a very serious social concern and this must be addressed. There are a few things that can be done to solve these problems. One of the solutions is parental supervision. Parents should supervise the amount of time their wards are spending here. For example, a recent watch indicated that parental supervision has decreased violent behaviour in their wards by more than half. Another solution is government moderation. Authorities should moderate the content. For example, the authorities should be strict in rating such programmes. However, this has resulted in great results. More than half of the content that was moderated has reduced addiction. To conclude, the effects of violent content on younger generations are very harmful. Hence, both the government and parents should take an active part in controlling it.