Many employers believe that good social skills are as important as good qualifications to succeed in a job, so they are employing people who are with good social skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is believed that soft skills such as communication and office information skills play a vital role and are considered to be as crucial as knowledge related to a specific job, thus a lot of employers hire candidates who have exceptional social skillsets. From my point of view, I agree with this statement and the following essay is going to discuss my point. To begin with, communication abilities can improve the result of companies. Simply put, if the employees of a company can commute well with each other, they can build up connections, not only in a department but also between divisions, the workflow could go more smoothly, since people can attain information faster and cooperate with coworkers with ease. For example, a new policy announced by the board of directors through an internal communication system could still be missed by some workers, but their colleagues can inform them about that, helping the policy to be carried out effectively. In addition, office information proficiency can help employees enhance their performance. This is due to the fact that many applications on the computer such as Word or Excel have formulas which are designed to help office workers do their work faster. For instance, a job in data analysis can take four hours to complete, but with the help of Excel formulas, it only requires two hours to finish, while achieving the same result, if not better, since all the calculations are conducted by computer. Hence, the interviewers would prefer to choose an individual who has knowledge about the job position as well as can operate these applications such as Excel or Word. In conclusion, while qualifications and academic knowledge are important, without which individuals cannot accelerate in their careers, social skillsets are undoubtedly crucial to the performance and productivity of a person.