Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that today most adults spend their leisure time playing computer games. The reason why they tend to prefer playing games to other activities is due to the availability of various games, and this development is decidedly negative. The major reason why more and more adults are opting for playing computer games is because of their accessibility. In other words, in the past, most computer games did not use to be as interactive and engaging as today. Apart from this, the gaming industry attracts millions of gamers no matter what age by bettering some features of games, which as a result can arouse even person' interests. For instance, a game, counter strike is the most popular one regardless of age, and most children have been playing this game to relieve stress and compete with their friends. After a while, even though they become older, they may try to play this game in their spare time to recall childhood memories. However, this tendency among man may bring drawbacks to them. In adulthood, most people seek to balance their work and life matters, such as covering family and personal needs, and bringing up their children. However, if adults find time to sit in front of their computer screens to play games, they may waste their time and take important tasks for granted. Moreover, they may lose track of their time playing computer games and become addicted to them which can result in not being able to manage family and work endeavours and worsening health conditions. For instance, my father has been a fan of playing computer games since my childhood, and currently, he squanders most of his time playing popular computer games, such as Atomic Heart, and Until dawn, which he could have spent on paying more attention to family and work issues. To conclude, I firmly believe that it is a pity that many adults are engaged in playing computer games in their free time because an adult, in my opinion, should be a role model for his child by showing a productive daily life rather than a onesedentary on sedentary.