Employers somtimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information. Such as their habbies and interests, and whether thay are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to job interviews, many questions including personal information are asked and used to help companies make a decision. There is a strong debate about whether or not these questions are effective and appropriate. In my opinion, although some might not want to expose their private life, this information could be beneficial for both companies and candidates. On the one hand, interviewers feel judged not by their ability but by their hobbies or marriage status and this could be an infringement on individual rights. For example, women are often asked whether they have a kid in Japan, because no one prefers to hire someone who might not work overtime or take a maternity leave soon. This is not related to personal ability and could be an invasion of privacy. On the one hand, the main reason some questions from interviewers are related to private life is that these answers allow for analyzing personalities and perspectives. Employers need to judge whether potential employees can cooperate with other employees and meet company’s expectations. This can prevent high turnover rates. Additionally, if short-time work schedules are required to take care of children, advance notice can help families. To conclude, even though job interviews make candidates unfairly assessed by personal tastes, I believe that this will bring benefits to not only employers but also potential employees.