Some people say that soon we will never again have to learn a foreign language because computers will be able to translate all languages into English. What are the advantages and disadvantages of computers being able to do this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a common belief that some people reckon that people do not need to learn a second language since they can use computers which will be able to translate all languages into English. However, there is a more persuasive argument that using a computer translator is inconvenient for the people because sometimes, a computer does not work. On the one hand, some people think that people can use a computer when they need to translate foreign languages into English. So, they do not have to study a second language. It takes significantly long time for people to learn new languages. However, if people use the computer, they can save their precious time. A survey conducted by Seoul National University, 70% of the people who use a computer translator responded that they do not need to learn a foreign language and they will not study a new language in the future. This means that people will never have to study a second language soon as they will be able to use their computer every single day. Nevertheless, there is a more important opinion. Some people believe that it is inconvenient for people use a computer when they need to translate a foreign language into English. This is because sometimes, a computer does not work since it is just one of the devices. From my experience, when I traveled Thailand, I used to use a computer to translate Thai to English or Korean. However, unfortunately, my computer does not work suddenly at the Hotel where I stayed for a while. So, I was very embarrassed and could not express my situation to the Hotel managers. If I learned Thai, I could tell them my opinion quickly and easily. This indicates that using a computer translator is not useful all the time and learning new languages still plays a pivotal role. To sum up, while there are some advantages to using a computer to translate languages, it is evident that disadvantages of that outweigh benefits.