Some people say History is one of the most important school subject. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the significants of some subjects learned in schools. While I agree that, there are various benefits of reading history, I believe that pupil-learning technical programs are more valuable. On one hand, history is one of the essential courses that should be made compulsory in various schools because it has numerous positive impacts on both the students and the country. To begin, history is the gateway to a particular culture, custom, norms, taboos and heritage, and it gives students the opportunity to know other various cultures as well. If the younger generation is not tough about their roots, the country's customs will gradually disappear when the older ones are no more., Also the school child will be able to know and understand some precious events that took place in order for their race to survive. For example, I remember I read how my country, Ghana struggle to gain freedom from their colonial masters. This historic event makes me passionate to do all I can to sustain the freedom my country is enjoying today. On the other hand, teaching courses such as, science and technology is more beneficial then reading history. I am saying this because in this modern world, technology rules the entire universe with its various inventions, which have made life easy and more convenient. I believe that much more effort should be put in place to allow science and technology to be compulsory subjects in schools rather than history. Since technical courses help us to find solutions to various health problems and natural disasters which constantly threaten the globe. Moreover, if more people have ideas about science, awareness will be created early such that people will know how to prevent some occurrences of these illnesses. I am of the view that if technical courses become compulsory in schools, students will develop an interest in it, thereby enabling them to consider reading more in it when furthering their education. This will go a long way to help the country to get more Human Resources such as doctors, nurses, engineers, and contractors who will help build the nation with their technical knowledge. For instance, I grew passionate about science back in primary school since it was a compulsory subject by then. Now am a nurse who helps cater for sick people and also educates individuals on how to stay healthy. In conclusion, although, young people being educated on their history is very significant for the preservation of the country's heritage, however, I am of the opinion that reading technical courses is more essential.