Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

We all are surrounded by catchy commercial advertisements and undoubtedly, it has a great implication on consumer behavior. Most of the cases, people are provoked to buy products that are not response our need at all. In this essay, I will delineate how ads play a vital role in shaping buying decisions. First of all, we have already embraced the technological era. That is to say, technology is available to all of us and through these technologies, companies’ ads reach us very easily. For instance, Companies could conduct advertising campaign incessantly with help of social media like facebook, twitter, etc. As a result, people impulsively buy the products that are actually unnecessary for them. Secondly, a good advertising could play with human psychology. It could change mindset transforming needs into wants. Hand phone device is a good example here to be mentioned. Due to the hostile market, cell phone producers compete with each other to pursue the consumer buying their products using smart advertising which focuses on so many features that in fact, is not real requirement of the consumer. Individuals like to think that a phone with many features is a useful thing to use, yet it is not tailored with their needs. In other words, ads could create a popular vogue in terms of lifestyle. For instance, in our country, most of the students in primary level are keeping smart phones while they have no need to have sophisticated phone set at this level. They argue that they are just responding to the trend using the advanced technology. Consequently, the sale of cell phones is boosted by particular class of consumers. Last but not the least, companies tend to use public figures, like film star, sportsman, media personality, etc. to build brand image. People tend to mimic their favourite personalities. Therefore, company who uses prominent figure can create a good brand image very easily and a strong brand image has a great impact on sales rate. Take Sachin Tendulkar, the best all rounder in cricket, as an example. He is the brand ambassador of energy drink brand, Boost, contributing in building brand image to a great extends. In conclusion, we get information about different products from the advertisement. This helps us to compare various goods and to take the right decision. Therefore, we need to be aware of our genuine requirement so that we can make a sensible choice.