Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by olher countres have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalisation has enabled countries around the world to trade with each other irrespective of the distance between them. Some people state that even most of the goods like basic commodities are usually transported from far away. I completely agree with their claim as it is factually recorded that the volume has been increased in recent times. This essay will discuss the reasons why this phenomenon is factually correct and will provide an explanation in detail. Our planet inhabits diversity in cultures, languages, races and faiths around the world. Likewise, the topography across various regions of the world has distinct features. Some of the basic amenities like spices can only be cultivated in the regions which has specific weather conditions and distinct soil ingredients. Because of this, most countries end up trading goods from different parts of the world. Take pepper as an instance, it cannot be grown in Europe as it requires low altitude land and warm weather conditions. Therefore, the topographical diversity causes countries to trade with those who are physically at a far distance from them. Furthermore, it is often observed that vast majority of countries have hostile relations with their neighbouring countries due to cultural rivalries or territorial disputes. Due to this, they often restrict trading among themselves to prevent each other from progressing economically. As a result, they are forced to trade with the countries which are at a far distance with them. A good illustration of this is the fact that China purchases dry fruits from Brazil rather than India because of their unfriendly relations with their neighbour. Consequently, countries are prompted to buy goods from those states with whom they have allied with and also with those who are far away from them. To conclude, this essay comprehensively illustrated why the phenomenon of long distance trading across countries for even the basic goods has become prevalent due to globalisation. Diversity in earth's habitat as well as the commonly observed hostile relations with neighbouring nations are major reasons leading to this development.