Nowadays more people have consumer goods like refrigerator and washing machines. Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the phenomenon that students soon become unemployed right after they have graduated from universities. However, whether educational institutions should mainly educate their students with practical work skills has been a controversial issue. From my perspective of view, higher education providers are ought to demonstrate job-related knowledge to their students. To start with, there is no doubt that for most learners, the purpose of attending colleges is to gain a competitive advantage during the job-hunting process which will allow them to bridge the gap between their school-lives and real-lives. If schools choose to ignore such skills, not only a majority of students will have a difficult time to look for jobs, but also the society will suffer from a higher unemployment rate, which could seriously damage the economy. As the result, it is crucial for education providers to value the students ’ real needs as their priority. In addition, focusing on job-related skills can improve the productivity of the society. For instance, MacBook has become the most profitable laptop since Steve Jobs designed the unique font which he once learned from a calligraphy course while he was still in college. If every university could consolidate teaching resources to offer courses in design, perhaps the society would be benefited from having more “Steve Jobs”. Those who harbor the view that the main responsibility of a university is to cultivate academic researches believe that students should absorb theories instead of practices. Indeed, there are students who will later become the next Tesla and then devote themselves to the goodness of mankind. Nevertheless, these blessed researchers are only the chosen ones. To conclude, universities are responsible for assisting the students to survive in the dark forest of workplace, creating more entrepreneurs, and therefore helping the society to evolute. On the flip side, the consequences of developing underlying academic assumptions are too heavy to discard. Only by doing so can we make sure that universities will generate a better society than what we have today.