Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the hike in university fees and lack of job opportunities for graduates, a major public opinion has risen to abolish teaching arts subjects like philosophy and history to enhance employment prospects. In my opinion, art degree holders have low appeal in the job market. On the other hand, these subjects are essential for the greater good of individuals and society. This essay will discuss the impact of terminating art subjects on campuses. Currently, the world is on the verge of a technological revolution. The development of technology has affected many fields such as engineering, finance, medicine, administration etc. Simultaneously, the job openings in these fields have expanded. Usually, people with technical education get drafted into these advanced fields. Moreover, the cost of higher education is increasing rapidly. On the contrary, salaries paid in the technical field are ample enough to cover student loans and other expenditures. The students who specialized in arts have less employability and less attractive payments. Consequently, the demand for aesthetic education has fluctuated in recent times. Despite the perks in the tech field, arts and music develop mental and spiritual well-being. For example, a study found that more than 80% of software engineers are suffering from stress and depression. Additionally, the research suggests engagement in art -related activities can effectively reduce mental disorders. In other words, modules like history, music, art and sculptures make an individual completely healthy. In conclusion, people prefer practical degrees over art degrees due to rising costs and the shrinking job market. However, teachings from art subjects are essential for a prosperous society.