Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that history is taught most of the time in educational institutions. Some individuals believe that would be more effective for pupils to learn professional abilities instead. I partially agree with such a point of view because, even though learning about important work skills at school can help a person to deal with possible job challenges, studying history also is crucial, since it improves the youth's knowledge about past experiences, helping them to change their behaviour in contemporary society. On the one hand, studying history makes youngsters aware of how important changes need to be made in society, because it brings knowledge about negative facts that continue to occur nowadays, which can be harmful to this type of population. Consequently, there is a possibility to adjust students’ behaviour toward daily activities. For instance, it is estimated that around 4 out of 10 public schools in Brazil, take pupils to visit national museums, which results in a more effective learning process and a unique experience that allows them to recognize the consequences of their actions in society. On the other hand, challenging situations at work can be easier to manage once it has been learned in a specialized course, due to the fact that it simulates the work environment and its responsibility. As a consequence, teens are more prepared to deal with stressful and high-demand situations in an employment environment. To illustrate, it is known that, those juveniles that already have been exposed to a previous work training course at school, showed more adaptability to this setting, which results in high performance at the job and personal fulfilment by them. To conclude, I do believe that history and work skills, both learned at school, are important to raise personality as well as improve youngsters' behaviour. However, this decision should be made by the students themselves, according to each necessity to supply personal achievements.