Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. It is now a trend for people to quit their job in companies to start up their own businesses such as private consultants, couple restaurants, or isolated designers. While it may bring unexpected good opportunities for individuals, being self-employed still confronts several undesirable obstacles. The chances to earn a higher salary could be the biggest motivation for people to be self-employed. Generally when employees come up with some innovative and outstanding ideas, they may put them into practice if the expected return is far more abundant and seductive than the present one. The urge for better income drives them to chase their own business. On top of that, the bossy and rigorous supervision from leaders also tends to intrigue resistances from subordinates, resulting their leaving. For some of the individuals, a sense of self-monitored, which encourages them to be their own employers, can better facilitate their productivity. However, starting up own business would means some underlying risks for business and personal life. To successful thrive in market needs competitive products or service, which is relatively more easier to be served by companies that have mature management and organizational structures. It could add up the risk of failing in the fierce competition for small businesses. Moreover, being self-employed can be equal to the forfeit of bonus, subsidies, and welfare most of the situations. Consequently individuals are forced to confront with more burden of emergencies and diseases. In conclusion, people may choose to be their own employers for the improvement of disposable income and life quality. But the demerits of self-employed may conversely damage their wishes and initiative.