Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The emphasis of our school education nowadays is widely discussed. Some people agree with the importance of learning history, while others hold the view that science and technology should play a more vital role. In my opinion, both kinds of subjects should be regarded as essential parts of educational content. However, I would argue that history serves as a basis for other subjects and is thus more crucial than science and technology. On the one hand, the necessity of subjects like science and technology cannot be trivialised for several reasons. Firstly, they not only tackle current problems but also avert hidden dangers in the future. For example, as we are facing an increasing number of environmental problems, we need a host of technologies to purify contaminated water and air. Secondly, the ensuing effect of coping with these problems creates a huge demand for people with expertise in our labour market. We want our children to be well-prepared to meet these needs and we, therefore, therefore encourage them to build a solid foundation in school, namely by gaining sufficient basic knowledge in these respects. Furthermore, science and technology can find other possibilities that embody hope for the future. On the other hand, I do support the argument that learning history is more important. There is an old Chinese proverb saying that history is like a mirror that aids us in understanding the truth about today and the future. Studying history will definitely be helpful for self-reflection, through the experiences of the prior period. When people delve into the past, they can sometimes have epiphanies about the causes and consequences of current issues. Otherwise, the same patterns may reoccur, if no one is conscious of the problems or even the hazards underneath. Nevertheless, the focus on learning history should be partly modified in our education. Instead of simply memorising dates and incidents, children should be more engaged in contemplating "What can we learn and gain from the past?" In conclusion, studying either history or subjects such as science and technology is essential, and I would pay more attention to the profound meaning of teaching history in our schools.