Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

In contemporary times, many individuals are compelled to have a profession that is not of their choice. One of the preponderant reason for this is parents’ choices and preferences imposed on the adolescents. Unprofessional attitudes and mental illnesses are the serious repercussions of this. This essay will outline the causes and the effects of forcefully imposed careers. In regards to causes of having a forceful career, one of the most significant reasons is parents’ choices. To elaborate it further, it is very common in our culture that parents decide the suitable profession for their younger ones because they anticipate they are more experienced in terms of age and personal experiences regardless of knowing their children aptitude. This leads to detrimental effects in their life. For instance, in our country majority of females join medical profession unwillingly just to fulfill their parent’s desires. In terms of repercussions of imposed careers, there are innumerable negative impacts on their life. One of them is their unprofessional attitude at their workplace. This can be further explicated if individuals do not have an interest in their profession, they will not do their job full-heartedly. For instance, they may either come late or leave the place earlier without completing their task. This not only affects their professional growth but also their social communication with their colleagues, as their colleagues have to work more to compensate for their duties. Mental illnesses like depressive disorders are very prevalent among such workers. To explain it a bit further, individuals doing jobs, not of their choice will not be able to cope with stressors at the workplace resulting in depression and other psychological disturbances. For instance, according to the research conducted by WHO, the major cause of depressive illness among doctors is forceful indulgence in the medical profession. In conclusion, the persuasive nature of parents choice of profession is the root main cause of persons doing the job not of their own interests. Depression and unprofessional attitude at workplace are the main repercussions of this.