An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

It is true that there has been an enormous increase in the production of consumer goods worldwide during the last two or three centuries. There has also been incalculable environmental damage in this same period. While there are reasons to connect these two trends, some solutions are possible to help prevent the ecological crisis which is resulting. Two major causes of the damage caused to the natural environment by the growing production of consumer goods can be easily identified. Firstly, there is the environmental degradation that results from the extraction of minerals. For example, there are about 1.5 billion cars in the world, and electric vehicles are promoted as an environmentally friendly alternative to petrol, as this will cut down on emissions and reduce reliance on fossil fuels. However, for the batteries alone of these electric cars, the mining of minerals like cobalt and lithium will lead to massive habitat destruction across the world. Secondly, consumption of goods creates mountains of toxic waste, most of which is not bio-degradable, and often pollutes water sources and kills the wildlife which depends on clean water. Measures must be taken to reduce consumption and to develop recycling technology. In terms of reducing consumption, too many consumer goods become obsolete too quickly. Washing machines, computers, refrigerators, cars and televisions, for instance, should all function for decades, and so there must be strict controls on production standards and marketing. From a recycling perspective, advances in technology enable many materials to be re-used, and governments must provide funding for more research in this field. If more goods can be recycled, then there will be less depletion of natural resources. In conclusion, causes of environmental damage stemming from consumption are obvious and reducing consumption and more recycling are part of the solution.