TOPIC: In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued that the authorities in many nations are justified in imposing a strict ban on smoking in public areas. This essay totally agrees with that statement because public places are where most people ’s health can be adversely affected and those who smoke in the company of many others will set a bad example for young generations. The first reason why I consider it imperative that smokers be fined or punished for their acts in public locations is that puffing a cigarette in those places can put the majority of people ’s health at risk. This is because public places are where a huge number of pedestrians, cyclists or office workers prefer to gather, and, as a result, allowing someone to smoke at their leisure in those places exposes many others to passive smoke, which in turn leads to more respiratory diseases such as lung cancer or breathing problems. That is why almost no restaurants or hotels in Vietnam allow their patrons, visitors and staff to smoke on their premises, but,, instead they would offer private rooms for smokers with a view to preventing them from doing harm to other people. Further support for my agreement with prohibition is that adolescents may model themselves as smokers in public places. As juveniles at impressionable ages are prone to mimicking what adults can legitimately do such as drinking or getting tattooed, the image of lighting a cigarette and creating a bubble from it stylishly in front of their awestruck friends can tempt youngsters into trying smoking first and then becoming compulsive smokers. Therefore, allowing adults to smoke in parks, shopping malls or game centres often frequented by young people may lead to a higher proportion of young smoking addicts in the future. For instance, many high school students in Vietnam are reported to secretly take up smoking after seeing their fathers or other family members consume a cigarette in crowded places. In conclusion, I strongly agree that prohibiting people from smoking in public places is justifiable because that would protect the public’s health from second-hand smoke and deter young people from becoming future smokers.