Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

These days, the students who choose their academic career in science subjects at university are getting fewer numbers in many countries. In my opinion, this trend has caused science subjects to tend to cost more than the other subjects and the students would be required to high academic performance in high school and university. Unfortunately, the lacking of students means a shortage of workers and it would bring the severe situation to companies and workers. Firstly, the problem that science subjects have mainly comes from the cost of learning in university and few financial aids for the students. Science subjects are parts of the STEM subjects which comprise science, technology, engineering and mathematics, these subjects are famous for earning higher salaries, however, they also cost more expensive tuition fees than other subjects. For example, in Japan, STEM subjects usually require their students to pay 2 million yen per year, compared with the other subjects whose students spent 1 million yen per year. That is the double amount of tuition fees, and it is quite few to find financial aid from the university or the government because almost all support targets students regardless of their majors. Additionally, the entry requirement of science subjects course has likely to become harder. The things that students must do for their studies have forced them to put more difficult situations not only in academic achievement, but also in financial problems. The decrease in students who major in science subjects let companies put into a shortage of workers and it would come out as a lower technological development. As getting a difficult situation to hire good human resources, companies have been forced to raise salaries or offer special treatment to them. However, these are not easy to do. The difficulties of companies would bring the more slowly improving their technologies and charging more prices for customers. These unpleased issues would happen with not enough students who study science subjects. In conclusion, the shortage of students who work on science subjects has been brought by relatively higher tuition and too much pressure on students. Moreover, these issues can negatively influence the companies which hire scientific workers through a smaller recruiting market.