Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is true that traffic jam is a challenging issue facing the modern world because the uses of car are increasing day by day. I think it is true statement for many reasons and government can be tackled it by doing some steps. There are a number of reasons why I believe individuals like to use car and the increase using the car is caused great traffic jsm. One possible reason is that world becomes advanced that is why most normal vehicles are turned into a motorist vehicles such as a car. As a result, people prefer to use car to reach their destination as soon as possible. For example, in the past public used to go to anywhere by foot or normal vehicle such as a rickshaw, while now people use bus, taxi or car to reach the work, hospital and so on which are comfortable for them and do not need to do any hard work as like past they did. Another possible reason is that people income source get higher rather than in the past. As in the developed world has variety of works, people can get high salaries. As a consequence, individuals want to lead luxurious, well furnished and expensive lifestyle. Moreover, car is the only way to lead convenient and well developed lifestyle. Finally, peole want to represent their statues in the society. For this reason, they purchase a car. For instance, rich people in the society prefer to buy a car to show their class in front of middle class people. At the end of the moment, people buy the car for lots of reasons but it increases the traffic congestion because we have a limit areas and roads whereas we purchase a plethora of cars rapidly which are covered all the areas and roads and creates traffic jam. However, government can be solved by taking some steps. Firstly, the administration should put some strict rules and regulations. If the government do it, the purchase of car will mitigate. For example, India is charging to the people who are buying more than two car and it helps to decrease the purchase of car. Furthermore, authority should increase the tax on car and increase the prices of car. Therefore, the uses of car will be slow down. In conclusion, traffic jam will increase unless peole do not control the buying of cars, do not increase the price and tax on cars and do not focus on the law about car purchasing.