In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects (example literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (example physics). Why do you think is so? Should this tendency be changed? Do you agree or disagree?

There is a phenomenon now that art courses seem to attract girls more while boys prefer to apply for science majors. I disagree with this kind of social atmosphere and I consider it stems from a biased education and it needs to be changed. I will discuss my viewpoints in the following essay. For a long time, some parents have tended to cultivate their offsprings based on their children's gender, because a conventional saying of girls are good at literature and boys are good at martial art prevail among people, as a result, a girl who aspires to be an engineer can feel strange. For instance, those people who come from a conservative family are more likely to consider that females would better take care of the family while males should accept the challenges of working outside. This makes an inherent mind which causes different genders to have different preferences in subject selection. There is no doubt that this outdated mindset should be changed in this rapidly developing world of technology, otherwise, it will go against the progress of the world. For example, a study by MIT found that disruptive technology AI can not recognize female programmers because there are too few datasets related to women. Therefore, we need to encourage students to dismiss the concept of sex difference and choose courses in a more comprehensive way. For this reason, I strongly disagree with this phenomenon. In conclusion, the situation of gender imbalance in some subjects is caused by a long-time-formed sex difference concept, however, this tendency is not in line with the development of modern society so I strongly disagree with this tendency.