These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, most people find themselves working from home is the easiest way with their personal gadgets. However, there are pros and cons of doing a job from home and the following paragraphs, will explore the topic and elaborate on the benefits and the drawbacks. One of the primary reasons of work from home is a better work-life balance. Most remote jobs also come with flexible schedules, which means individuals can start their days and end their days as they choose. Moreover, taking care of kids, dropping them off at school and doing household chores are all easier to balance when there is work-from- home. In addition to that, remote workers can avoid travelling to the office, which helps them in saving some money and time. Also, it is a great way to avoid high-paid rental areas, especially for people who require to reside nearer to metropolitan places. Nevertheless, there are numerous drawbacks to working from home. Among, the crucial ones is the lack of communication with the team members. Though there are various platforms like Zoom, Skype, Teams etc., where employees can connect through video calls and conferences, it might not be as efficient as sitting together and brainstorming ideas to work effectively. Besides, working remotely can lead to a loss in productivity due to many distractions and deviations at home, which may lead to a lack of one’s individual performance and also their working projects in danger. Furthermore, working over the home internet might be a problem to access sensitive documents, lack of high-speed internet services and also not available to other equipment like printers or fax, which are otherwise easily accessible in the workplace. To conclude, the above disadvantages that have been pointed out, are reasons why some organizations are not hiring with the idea of remote work. Yet, there are various ways of employee engagement, which can help organizations get past these disadvantages.