Atomic energy is becoming more and more popular energy source. However, some people argue that nuclear power puts life on the Earth to danger. What is your opinion?

Due to fast technical development atomic energy is becoming more and more popular. However, some people argue that nuclear power puts life on Earth at risk. I do not think so. My take on this is that nuclear energy is not only safe for humanity, but also it is environmentally friendly. Firstly, it is much safer than most of society thinks. For instance, everyone around the world has heard about the explosion at Chornobyl's nuclear station, but it is only one of all the stations. Moreover, this explosion made scientists think about the risks and improve the technology to be safer. So, there is no point to be afraid of nuclear energy and suppose that it can turn our Earth to ashes. Secondly, it is not only harmless to the environment, but also it is the most effective way of producing energy. For example, the technology of producing energy out of coal is less effective and affects harmfully on nature. While atomic energy is almost fully environmentally friendly and one nuclear station can produce a twice bigger amount of energy than the coal one. In foreseeable future, atomic energy might be a perfect replacement for coal energy. In a nutshell, nuclear technologies are developing every day and becoming less harmful and more effective every day. If there have not been some accidents with it, we would not reach such a massive upgrade in the technology. And there is no doubt that someday it will fully replace the old traditional sources of energy.