Do you agree or disagree with the following statement. Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Some people believe that computer games do not have a severe impact on children, while others state that computer games are harmful thus parents should not allow their kids to play them. I personally believe that video games affect children adversely and they should be limited. I feel the aforementioned way for two reasons, which I am going to explain in the following essay. To begin with, computer games cause one to get low grades in school. If young people play computer games, they do not realize the time and forget to do their homework. My personal experience is a compelling example of what I mean. When I was a schoolgirl, I used to play a video game which is called " Barbies". I was in a hurry to go home every day when my classes finished. I was addicted to that game, and I hardly ate my meal. I usually forgot to do my homework which is why I got lower grades in many subjects. Once my parents found out that I was not doing well at school, they decided to set a password to my computer. This made me very upset at first. I had not had access to my favourite game, thus nothing prevented me from doing my homework. Secondly, games on the computer prevent children to be social with peers. Children who play computer games barely go out and play with other children. Moreover, they do not do some housework chores. For instance, my nephew got used to computer games when he was a fourth grade at school. He mostly played computer games. My nephew did not go outside for days, although, his friends always invited him to play with them outside. He had difficulty talking with his peers when my brother took him to the guest. Besides, his dad told him to throw the rubbish but he forgot instead he played computer games. After that day my brother did not allow him to play video games, he started taking him to his work instead of leaving him alone at home. If my brother did not punish my nephew he would still have difficulty talking to people and would not help with housework. In conclusion, I believe that computer games have a negative effect on kids, thus parents should not allow children to play them. This is because children who play computer games get lower grades, and they will have difficulty associating with people.