In today’s world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today's society, there is so much value given to youthful appearance that some people become obsessed with the idea of looking younger than their actual age. I believe this trend poses some adverse effects on people's financial and mental well-being. The most apparent reason why people make tremendous efforts trying to appear young is that there is generally significant appreciation given for the youthful outlook. Youth is perceived as a symbol of beauty and freshness, which many individuals try to relate to. Therefore, as long as this attitude exists, people will always make an effort to look younger. However, there are some negative consequences of idealising a youthful appearance. People trying to relate to their younger version constantly live with worries about others' opinions. As a result, they continuously experience high-stress levels and, occasionally, depression. Moreover, apart from physical consequences, they also have to deal with a financial burden. Although cosmetic tools are inexpensive, the desire to look young rarely lets people restrict themselves to basic makeup materials. They may, for example, try out plastic surgery, which is considered to be one of the most expensive methods of skincare in contemporary medicine. Allocating vast amounts of money for such costly operations, people frequently drain their personal or family budget. In a nutshell, people nowadays are overly obsessed with the idea of looking younger. Although their efforts to improve their appearance certainly make them happier in the short term, they will need to deal with some psychological and financial effects in the long term.