Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give a reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Expansive university fees and limited employment opportunities in arts and humanities subjects lead to some people arguing that universities should stop teaching these subjects and rather focus on practical education which leads to better employability. This essay disagrees that, firstly employment and university degrees are independent of each other. Furthermore, subjects like philosophy and history cannot be discontinued as they are pivotal for human society's development. The skills required for performing a job are not always taught in a university. University just opens a door to a student to a wider and more practical world and a student often acquires skills on the job by performing his job duties gradually. For instance, the booming information technology sector of India welcomes people with any university degree as long as the candidate possesses basic coding and computer skills. Additionally, the human race should be aware of their own past to make their future better. History is a written log of important events of the past, and so is the philosophy which teaches a human being his/her point of view on life. Overall, these arts and humanities subjects create a foundation for one to learn and skills to be successful in life and career. For example, many computer games are based on past historical events,and studying history helps a computer programmer design the character of the game. Overall, It can be ruled out that arts and humanities should be omitted from University degrees because they are expansive and do not aid much in getting a job like a practical course do. With the right skills and attitude, a student with any background can land a job.