With the increasing demand for energy such as oil and gas, people start to look for their sources in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, because of industrial development and economic growth, people have a surging demand for fossil fuels like oil, gas, and coal, and many of them are inclined to search for natural sources in some remote and undeveloped areas. From my perspective, I believe the demerits outweigh the positive aspects. Admittedly, drilling energies in remote and untouched territories could boost the economy. To be more specific, this type of exploitation needs a lot of human resources, which creates numerous job opportunities for the residents, promoting tax revenue for the local governments. In addition, the development in each country would also cause a boom in the global markets and improve the living standards for the public. Besides, natural-sources exploitation in remote and untouched places facilitates technological innovation. Since, usually, compared to the drilling energies in regular areas, the above venues put forward a higher requirement to the working facilities due to the extreme natural conditions like the permanent icebergs and high mountain lawns. However, looking for sources in remote and untouched areas would causes environment deterioration irreversibly. The main reason is for its potential catastrophic effects. On the one hand, this exploitation would destroy the habits of a variety of wild animals and vegetations, with the natural sources they are feed on. On the other hand, the increase of drilling in undeveloped places might let people be over-dependent on the fossil fuels, which definitely destroy the environment due to the carbon-dioxide emission and toxic gases. In the long term, the ozonosphere would be destructed and the greenhouse effect appears. Based on this consequence, some extreme weather conditions like flooding, acid rain, global warming would occur and eventually impose a threat to people’s live. In a nutshell, although there are advantages, drilling energies in remote and untouched areas do more harm than good especially in natural and environmental aspects.