Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present world, governments bear noteworthy expenditures for the arts. Even music and theatre are among the many forms of art just some examples in which governments invest a lot of money. Nonetheless, I strongly disagree that government investment in the arts is a waste of money and that they must invest this money in public services instead. Analysing how these arts reflect our interior emotions, and so how much they are part of us, as well as the key role they have from an economic point of view will prove this. Firstly, the many art forms have been a major way of expressing ourselves over the years. Unsurprisingly, a great majority of the population feel the urge to listen to music, go to concerts and to the theatre to feel better after a period of mere working life. This is a human need we cannot live without. Therefore, this makes it clear that spending on arts is essential for the well-being of citizens. Secondly, the arts represent a great source of income for a country, especially mine. For example, some Italian cities, such as Rome and Venice, rely on tourism for their sustainability. Since tourists are attracted by the extreme variety of our art forms, the government cannot stop investing in any of them. Thus, it becomes apparent that investing in the arts is not a waste of money. To summarize, it is fundamental for the well-being of citizens, as well as for the revenue stream of one country to invest money in the arts. Consequently, the idea of inventing that money in other sectors, such as public services, cannot be supported. After a thorough analysis of this subject, it is recommended government will continue to invest money in all forms of art.