In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the houses or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

People from different countries have been trying to find out more about the past of houses or buildings they live in. Usually, humans are curious to learn more about historical facts and cities’ architecture may be a good way to understand them. Since finding information is not always an easy task, people who are willing to go further on this research should visit the City Hall of their city to start. Studying the architecture of certain place is a good way to understand more about history, especially when it comes to culture in general, such as traditions and religion costumes. The architecture is a mutable art that changes according to the period of time and region, so it could be the most important feature to understand the background of a specific location. For example, the architecture of the Roman Empire, one of the biggest empires in history, can be seen in several European countries, so by analyzing houses or buildings, people can have a sense of plenty historical facts that are related to this empire, like time, important battles, and culture. Therefore, analyzing the surrounding architecture of a site is an incredible source to learn history, but knowing where to start the research is also very important. In order to find out historical information related to the architecture of certain place, people can reach out to the city-Hall managers. This could be a good start, as the City-Hall usually have register of past owners of each house and building in the city, since it is mandatory to register property when you acquire one. From this point, people should be able to find many interesting facts about the site’s background, for example, who was the previous owner, when they lived there, for how long, where did they come from and so on. Considering that City-Halls usually store a diverse range of registers and data of the population, these places should be a good source for those interested in learning history. To sum up, trying to understand more about the place you have been living in is a trend among people around the world. Everyone is curious about the past of their locations, and this essay explained that architecture of houses and building around the cities can really say a lot about historical backgrounds and why visiting a City-Hall should be a good alternative to start such research.