In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their babies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, women are granted maternity leave from their workplace during the initial first months post child. This essay agrees that the advantages in doing so outweigh the disadvantages. This is because the opportunity to opt for leave post child birth offers the women the needed rest to recover physically and also overcome mental health issues such as depression. A woman carries a child in her womb for 9 months during pregnancy. At this period, a woman's body undergoes several changes. For instance doctors around the world recommend woman to take appropriate nutrition and sleep after giving birth, as it is only natural that the female body would start to return to pre pregnancy conditions. For which getting adequate rest is essential which is difficut to achieve performing office work. Therefore, obtaining complete rest from office is highly effictive in post birth physical healing amongst women. Pre and post pregnancy involves many hormonal fluctuations in women which effects their mental well-being. For example, several medical records suggest that most women undergo depression post child birth effecting the mother and new born relations. Thus, having the provision to take leave post pregnancy would enable the woman to have the sufficient space and time to connect with their child and develope developed an understanding of new born requirements apart from working on improving her own mental issues. In conclusion, women who are allowed leave post child birth mainly the first few months can utilize the leave period to heal physically and mentally. Hence, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages in this case.