Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is widely argued that the use of private cars has gone up so quickly during over past 30-year period that many urban all over the world are “one serious traffic jam” now. Personally, I strongly agree with this view for a variety of reasons. Moreover, there are several approaches that which administration can take to dissuade humans from car ownership. To begin with, there are clear arguments that there has been significant growth in car ownership over the past thirty years that many cities around the world are now “one big traffic jam”. One of the main reasons can be that private cars which are driven much by citizens lead to the overload of traffic. This is because the width of road is not enough to include the large volume of cars which is owned or rented in a city. Another is that several transportation problems can result from car ownership. For example, it is reported by VietnamExpress that over 60% of accidents occurred by car collisions. Besides, there are numerous solutions that governments could take to discourage humans from using private automobiles. Firstly, an effective measure would be passing new codes regarding the limited number of cars in the rush hour. For example, Pham Van Dong Street, a main road in Vietnam was applied the time law during rush hour period in 2018 to decrease using their cars. The second action would be for government to rise car taxes in the sale of cars in different regions and countries. This means authorities should grow the tax for imported an interior car to reduce the use of private cars. In conclusion, the rapid increase in the car ownership is one of the major causes result to the big traffic jams in many cities over the world because of the overload and accidents. Furthermore, governments should be taken some above approach to reduce the effects of car ownership on the current society.