You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative development? You should write at least 254 words.

Sport is a vital element in a child's development. However, some argue that many children prefer to spend time playing computer games as opposed to spending time on sports. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and also my opinion on why I consider this to be a negative development. The number of children taking up sports is in decline. There are two main reasons for this decline: the popularity of computer games and students spending more time on their studies. Computer games have become a sensational hit among children with their ease of playing and advanced graphics. Every child has a computer nowadays, making it easy to spend more time playing games. Secondly, parents and schools have been pushing students to spend more time on their studies. This additional pressure reduces the leisure time available to spend on sports. For instance, a study revealed that a teenager on a week spends eight hours on computer games, but, spends only three hours on sports. In conclusion, the popularity of sports has seen a decline in the younger generation. Computer games ' popularity and students spending more time studying are the two main reasons for this. However, I feel that this negative trend needs to be reversed as sports provide many benefits over computer games.