Now adays the surveillance is happening at almost all public places. is it good or perceived bad by people? what are the advantages and disadvantages?

With technological advancement, Artificial Intelligence (AI) system becomes stronger and stronger marking their footprint in almost each and every sector as it is being used by an individual corporates to local governments for varied purposes. One of its purposes is surveillance in public places by the government or concerned individuals which is perceived better by many people, including myself as it is advantageous for varied reasons. Firstly, the cameras installed on roads, and entrance of different public premises such as malls, gardens, schools, library, etcetera enables monitoring of the safety and security of the citizens from any unsaid theft. In addition, specific intelligent cameras installed at the traffic signals are helping the administration to keep checks on traffic violations to levy penalties on the defaulters which is an added benefit for enforcing the regulations for road safety. Apart from this, in the country like India, it is not permitted to express your feelings in public as it is considered against the rudimentary culture that impacts negatively on younger persons,especially children. Surveillance in the public domain helps to restrict such kind of activities and maintain the obedient culture of Indian society. It is a boon for the police department that always lacks reliable pieces of evidence for justice, but this system has solved the such problem of developing real time, untampered shreds of evidence for any crime. With the said merits, surveillance at public locations is considered good for the city and its citizens. On the other hand, there are a set of people who believe that it is a bad due to its fewer disadvantages. Considering the fact, it may showcase wrong interpretation due to breakdowns or faults in the system as it is IT-enabled and hence sometimes one cannot completely rely on it to take major decisions. On top of that, there is a threat of data leaking which may hinder one’s privacy and safety. However, these situations can be avoided by strengthening the systems. Thus, considering both scenarios, it can be concluded that at any point of,time surveillance is good and more advantageous for people for safely strolling at public places.