In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Many solutions have been offered to solve traffic congestion. Imposing a hefty tax on private cars and devoting that money to facilitate public transportation by governments is one of them. This step will have pros and cons. Implementing the idea of devoting money that was taken from car owners to improving public transportation to reduce traffic has some advantages. Firstly, expanding the number of public buses and trains leads to decreasing traffic. To clarify, since this improvement provides people with sufficient and reliable public transportation, they are more likely to be reluctant to use their own car during rush hours. Therefore, the number of vehicles will be reduced at the pick-times. Second, by using this method, people are less likely to feel stressed. High taxes on private cars discourage people from using cars where finding parking spaces is stressful. Consequently, investment in expanding buses will ease traffic congestion during rush hours as well as will have significant effects on people mental health. On the other hand, that rule has some disadvantages. To begin with, increasing the number of buses leads to more air pollution. Although expanding the use of public vehicles tackles the traffic issue, commuting via public transportation surge pollution from bus emissions. Exhaust gases can contaminate the atmosphere. Moreover, this method brings out a lack of budget for expanding roads. In despied of solving traffic problem for a short time, this methos cannot be as effective as devoting those money on facilitate roads which is a long-term solution. For example, expanding highways system by extra charge private car owners on taxing can boost vehicles’ fellow and reduce traffic jam for a long time.   In conclusion, traffic problems can be tackled by earning more tax from people who have their own cars. This solution is beneficial for reducing road congestion during rush hours and reducing people's stress. However, it causes health problems for people by increasing air pollution. It just offers a short-term solution and acts as a barrier to expanding roads. Concrete measures should be taken to face the traffic problem.