Nowadays people prefer to shop in large supermarkets rather than nearby local shops. Why do you think this is happening? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

In the present circumstances, people prefer to do their shopping in larger supermarkets rather than! shops in their locality. There are several reasons to explain this statement which I will elaborate. This trend has its pros and cons which I will also explain in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the reason that people are shifting to shop in supermarkets is because of the variety of products offered, are at a more competitive price, the products are even fresher. Moreover, supermarkets offer facilities for parking and more space that allows people to circulate freely and get all their products in a single place and they have the choice to pick up the products they want as well. Whereas, the local shops sometimes are not accessible, have less variety of products and furthermore, the price is higher than the one in the supermarket. Small local shops are often inaccessible, and people have to walk long distances to get a shop. The advantage of shopping in supermarkets is that people have products at a lower price compared to local shops which most of the time are higher. Hence, local markets have to close their doors due to supermarkets. On the other side, supermarkets can be situated very far from the centre of town, people need to drive very long distances to go to the supermarket. On the other side, most supermarkets are found in shopping malls which allows people to their shopping for both household and clothes and at the same time they can dine in the food courts available. In conclusion, supermarkets have facilitated people's life in shopping. Many shopping malls manufacture their own products, thus providing a reduced price to the shoppers. However local shops are still very helpful to people if they want to buy small products which are near their workplace.