*Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. *Why might this be the case? *What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Self-employment has been on the rise recently and it is heading towards the direction of becoming a norm, rather than to work in a company. So why is this the case and what are the potential downsides of being self-employed? Firstly, working under an organisation would mean less flexibility in terms of working hours as employees are required to adhere to rules and regulations strictly. To be exact, the younger generation of the workforce prefer to have more freedom during work and choose their own hours of work. Besides that, it provides them the opportunity to work wherever they want, and not solely restricted in the office. Not working under a firm also provides space for more self-exploration and at the same time allow people to seek and explore in their preferred industries. Conversely, there are disadvantages of being self-employed. For example, the job security of self-employment is significantly lesser than being employed under a company. Therefore, stress is a commonplace of being self-employed as monthly income might differ each month and this would in turn lead to an uncertain future. On the other hand, getting hired by a company would mean a more secure job and the future would be more predictable and calculated. Although being self-employed might sound like a wonderful option, especially for those who do not like to work in the same environment and stuck with recurring job scopes over time. However, there are downsides to working independently and one should learn to ponder carefully of the pros and cons before jumping into a decision hastily.