In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

There is an ongoing debate regarding future payments going to happen via card and phone rather than cash. Personally, I feel this will happen in the future for numerous reasons and in this essay we will look into it and thus, come up with a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, people find it more convenient to pay for large purchases via card or phone than cash. Moreover, with the introduction of applications such as AFTERPAY or ZIP, shopping has become easier to do via an app and in four instalments. Secondly, it is also safer because the risk of getting robbed will always be there, hence, the use of cards or smartphones helps. For instance, a month ago when I accidentally misplaced my wallet, I did not lose any cash since I was not carrying any. All my bank cards and ID I manage to get a new one within a couple of days. Hence, the constant stress of losing our bags or getting robbed while having cash in them is not there. Nevertheless, there will be some who would be a little upset with this change in their life. For some, learning to use phones or even bank cards is challenging due to their age. While for others, it is like not having a backup option, for example, in many places if we pay via cash we get a discount. Moreover, sometimes we forget to bring our wallet and our phone’s battery dies, therefore, in these situations, we are unable to pay. It is convenient to have a couple of twenty dollar bills with us just in case of emergency. In conclusion, although it is inevitable, people will slowly get used to this change and move forward.