Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same job. What problem this causes What are the solutions.

Many senior citizens are now competing with youngersters for employment. Although, serious problems have risen as a result of this, there are solutions as this discourse will subsequently elucidate. One major reason why employers prefer young applicants is that they believed they have up-to-date qualifications, experiences and are better familiarized with modern technology than older folks. This kind of competitive advantage may be unfavourable to old folks as some of them are not well versed with the use of modern technology and may not be shortlisted for a job because of their inability to keep up with technological advancement. For example, about 20% of Globacom job applicants who were ages 60years and above were not recruited because of their inability to use Microsoft Excel for records of sales. In addition, an imbalance between job demands and supplies can also cause increase in the number of job seekers. This is because population growth does not match up with industrial revolution in most developed countries. Therefore, this makes most older people not want to retire early as they are not guaranteed to be paid their pension early and this results in congestion in the labor market as the old folks are not paving way for young individuals to take over their job even when they know they can't perform optimally anything. Despite the daunting nature of these problems, there are possible solutions today. Firstly, the government should provide skills needed for older adults to compete in the job market which can be achieved through organizing free training on most important job requirements at comment level. Secondly, law makers should introduce laws that will make senior citizens retire at an early age of 50years and this can be achieved through the payment of their pension on time and sponsoring small scale businesses of retiree. In addition, government should encourage employera employees to change their employment practices by promoting the value that older workers can bring to a job. In conclusion, the main reason for competition with these age groups is an imbalance between job demands and supplies and competitive advantage that young folks have over senior colleagues. However, with the right training and changes to recruitment processes, older people can compete on equal level as the younger generation in the labor market.