Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to the rising consumption rate, many people start to buy things they do not really need, and can not afford. In my essay I am going to think over this problem, while I try to find the reasons behind this habits. Many people buy items, especially a variety of luxurious goods they do not particularly need. Owning something is a basic instinct, what can be used by the marketing experts to sell their products. Due to the growing presence in the social media, famous influencers can earn serious money, showing their ‘rich’ life to their fans. After watching their beloved stars, the audience starts to buy expensive wristwatches, or jewelleries, what they could not really afford. Examining the reasons, there is another key factor, what makes easier to buy something without real money. Credit cards like American Express, are often given for free to the customers to drive them into debt. When I got my first bank account, I also got a credit card with a limited amount, which was almost the same like my whole salary, and I remember it was always emptied out at the end of the month. In conclusion this is dangerous, because people can easily get as much loan, as it can not be paid back. In my opinion governments should give more attraction to this tendency, and more serious regulations needed in the bank sector to prevent placing out not affordable loans. Extra taxes given to social media advertisements which takes place in contents of influencers would also be a quick and an easy solution.