More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

With the recent advancement to the internet, we have made major changes to almost every aspect to our lives. Due to wich, a growing number of companies are letting their employees work from home instead of coming to their offices every day. In this essay, I will discuss how the advantages of remote work outweight its disadvantages. Distraction and a negative impact on social life are the major drawbacks of remote work. At the office, everyone is focused at what they are doing but at home distractions such as pets and kids will affect the employee's output. Furthermore, the inability to interact with coworkers face to face drastically impacts social life. Those at home miss out on the office culture and events, for instance, which makes them feels distant. Isolation creeps in which is detrimental to their mental health being, and further leads to depression. However, remote work means fewer cars on the road and as a result, improved air quality. Automobiles are the leading cause of air pollution. With the work from home option growing, cars on the roads have decreased and so have burnt up fossile fuels. Besides it's positive environmental impact, it also possitively affects the employee's life. They are able to spend more time with their families and are able to partake in activities that would be impossible if they spent their entire day at work. Missing their child's first step, for instance, is no longer a worry for those who work remotely. To conclude, remote work is a new conecpt that has its valid negatives but its benfits outweigh them. This mode of work affects its employees lives and provides them with happiness, something that is invaluable to a company's morale and productivity.